Rotterdam/The Hague : Identification of metropolitan area


The Metropolitan region is a convergence of the two strong agglomerations around the cities of Rotterdam and The Hague. They both have an own unique profile and a distinctive identity. They complement each other well and their strengths act in synergy. Every day around half a million commuters travel from home to work or to training or study. The region really does function as a single, daily urban system. In other words the region and its 23 local authorities have been working closely together in numerous domains for a long time already: the Metropolitan region is alive.

23 municipalities in the Metropolitan region Rotterdam The Hague:

Albrandswaard, Barendrecht, Brielle, Capelle aan den IJssel, Delft, Den Haag (’s Gravenhage), Hellevoetsluis, Krimpen aan den IJssel, Lansingerland, Leidschendam, Voorburg, Maassluis, Midden-Delfland, Nisseward, Pijnacker-Nootdorp, Ridderkerk,,, Rijswijk, Rotterdam, Schiedam, Vlaardingen, Wassenaar, Westland, Westvoorne, Zoetermeer

Map of the Metropolitan area


Key figures of the Metropolitan Region Rotterdam The Hague

surface area 2020 (km2) 1256.40
inhabitants 2020 2,390,416

*Gross Domestic Product per capita is € 34.500

Foreigners in the region

expats 80,000
foreign university students 12,000
international institutions MRDH