Lisbon : Identification of metropolitan area

The Lisbon Metropolitan Area (Área Metropolitana de Lisboa – AML) encompasses 18 municipalities located in the Lisbon and Setúbal districts: Alcochete, Almada, Amadora, Barreiro, Cascais, Lisboa, Loures, Mafra, Moita, Montijo, Odivelas, Oeiras, Palmela, Seixal, Sesimbra, Setúbal, Sintra, Vila Franca de Xira.

It has a population of 2.8 million inhabitants (2018) on a territory with 3015 km2, representing 27% of the Portuguese population. It concentrates 1/3 of the country’s companies and jobs and 36% of the national GDP (31000 €/inhabitants (2020)).

AML is centred in Lisbon, the capital and largest city of the Portugal (100km2), which concentrates 19.4% (547000 inhabitants) of AML’s population.

Lisbon AML 
Area (km2)100.053 015
Population (2011)1547 7332 821 876
Employment (2014)1679 0002 450 800
GDP €/Inhabitants (2018)1– 25 916


Map of the metropolitan area
Map of the metropolitan area

Map of the metropolitan area