Description - Transport for West Midlands (TfWM)

Positive change is happening in the West Midlands. A new West Midlands Combined Authority (WMCA) governance model supported by a transformation Devolution Deal with the UK Government, will see an unprecedented step change in delivery to support our collective ambitions for economic growth.

The WMCA consists of twelve local authorities and three Local Enterprise Partnerships working together to move powers from Whitehall to the West Midlands. The WMCA is the Local Transport Authority for its constituent Authorities, as well working in partnership with its non-constituent members. The WMCA membership consists of two elected members from each of the constituent authorities, referred to as “Constituent Members or Metropolitan Authorities”:

  • Birmingham City Council
  • City of Wolverhampton Council
  • Coventry City Council
  • Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council

Non-constituent members will be appointed, one each from the following Councils and LEPs:

  • Greater Birmingham and Solihull LEP
  • Black Country LEP,
  • Coventry and Warwickshire LEP
  • Cannock Chase District Council
  • Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council
  • Redditch Borough Council
  • Tamworth Borough Council
  • Telford and Wrekin Borough Council

Other authorities have expressed an intention to join the Combined Authority following its initial establishment and the relevant legislative process. These include Stratford-on-Avon District Council and Shropshire Council. The membership of additional authorities will be consulted on during the consultation regarding Mayoral WMCA powers and functions and it is expected additional members will be formally incorporated towards the end of 2016.

Transport is firmly at the heart of these changes and from Friday 17 June 2016, transport is led by Transport for West Midlands (TfWM) – the transport arm of the Combined Authority.

TfWM is responsible for formulating transport strategy and policy and project delivery, incorporating strategic highways, freight, rail, bus, tram and rapid transit network. TfWM also covers the delivery of Swift smart ticketing, promoting walking and cycling, the use of real time journey information for journey planning and the use of new technologies. These are all priorities helping encourage better mobility for people across the area.

Key areas

In June 2016, WMCA approved the West Midlands Strategic Transport Plan “Movement for Growth".
“Movement for Growth” sets out an ambitious plan to greatly improve the transport system to support economic growth and regeneration, underpin new development and housing and improve air quality, the environment and social inclusion.

It is based on improvements, year in year out, over the long term to an integrated transport system made up of 4 tiers:

  • National and Regional
  • Metropolitan (Metropolitan Rail and Rapid Transit Network, Key Route Network, Strategic Cycle Network)
  • Local
  • Smart Mobility
  • TfWM is now working on a 10 year transport delivery strategy and implementation plan, which will set out priority projects for delivery and development. This work will include plans and measures to ensure the resilience and operational stability of the transport network during a period of previously unprecedented infrastructure investment, by the WMCA and partners, as well as by Network Rail, Highways England and HS2 Ltd.

The WMCA is also developing a series of more detailed policies and strategies, for example to support freight. Other key areas for policy and strategy development include air quality and work to identify measures to support the young, socially excluded and troubled individuals.

HS2 Growth Strategy Local Connectivity Package
The Combined Authority Devolution Deal has a £4.4bn HS2 Growth Strategy to make the most of HS2 arriving in the West Midlands. This includes the Curzon Masterplan in central Birmingham. As part of this Growth Strategy there is a local connectivity package of 20 transport schemes to effectively “plug-in” the 2 new HS2 stations to local transport networks. These schemes include the East-West Metro with Metro light rail extensions to Dudley - Brierley Hill and through East Birmingham to North Solihull and HS2 Interchange station.

Description of metropolitan area

The West Midlands is made up of seven Local Authority areas with a total population of 2.8 million inhabitants. These Local Authorities are: Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton.

Birmingham is the largest of the Local Authority areas and is the second largest city in the United Kingdom. The West Midlands is predominantly an urban region with a diverse ethnic and cultural make up. It is traditionally famous for its car manufacturing industries but the last decade has seen an increase in the service and hospitality sectors as new investment has been made. Millions of pounds have been invested in recent years, in particular the new developments in Birmingham city centre which acts as a vibrant, cultural centre for the region.

Adam Harrison

  • Updated : July 4, 2016

Social Share


Palma de Mallorca
Paris Ile-de-France
Rotterdam/The Hague